MacLehose Press

25% OFF
The Human Part

The Human Part

by Kari Hotakainen
Translated by Owen F. Witesman

Buy Hardback RRP £14.99 £11.24

Other Formats Available

See Paperback RRP £8.99 £7.64

An elderly woman agrees to sell her life to a blocked writer she meets at a book fair. She needs to talk – her husband has not spoken since a family tragedy some months ago.

She claims that her grown-up children are doing well, but the writer imagines less salubrious lives for them, as the downturn of Finland’s economic boom begins to bite. Perhaps he’s on to something.

The Human Part is pure laugh-out-loud satire, laying bare the absurdities of modern society in the most vicious and precise manner imaginable.

‘a beautifully crafted tale of bereavement, intimate human suffering and the curious specks of reparation that death can bring … this is a simply stunning book. Fans of Mark Haddon and Haruki Murakami will be enraptured’ Time Out.

‘A humane, disconcerting and pleasurable text. In other words, it is a truly beautiful novel’ Le Monde.

‘Hotakainen’s books are not meant to be mindlessly devoured – but demand to be read in one sitting’ Savon Sanomat.

‘A truly stunning piece … This is an extremely clever book, which is also deeply witty. Splendid’ Image Magazine.

‘a novel packed with sophisticated ideas which should, like a rare delicacy, be savoured slowly’ Tribune.

‘quaint and quirky book’ Irish Times.

What is Qudos?

Whenever you buy a book from the Quercus or MacLehose Press websites - we want to say thank you with Qudos points.

For every book you buy, we'll add Qudos points to your order - and the next time you purchase a book from us, you'll be able to use the Qudos points to get money off that order.