MacLehose Press

Tag Archives: Angharad Price

The Life of Rebecca Jones

The Life of Rebecca JonesThis month sees the paperback release of Angharad Price’s wonderful The Life of Rebecca Jones, translated from the Welsh by Lloyd Jones. This elegant evocation of life in the Welsh valleys accumulated a host of stellar reviews when it was published in hardback in 2012, not least from Tom Payne in the Daily Telegraph who proclaimed it “a classic novel”, and from Boyd Tonkin in the Independent who lauded it as “a gem of a short novel” and named it one of his books of the year.

Amidst all this praise, one of our favourite pieces was written by Marla Johnson on the World Literature Today, who chose it as an Editor’s Choice:

Welsh author Angharad Price offers us a welcome respite from our frenzied twenty-first-century lives in her absorbing recent novel, The Life of Rebecca Jones (2012), a fictionalized account of Price’s great aunt who was born in 1905 in rural Maesglasau Valley in Wales. Although the book is properly classified as a novel, it contains an accurate history of the Jones family, along with striking personal photographs of family members and the surrounding countryside. These elements alone would recommend the book as worthwhile reading, but Price’s lyrical prose breathes an almost magical life into the narrative. Her descriptions are so artistically rendered that I was transported in time and place as I read. Instead of hearing the constant beeping and buzzing that makes up the background noise of modern life, I heard “the echo of wheel and hoof on road” and “the valley’s stream as it whispers past.”

Click here to read the rest of her wonderful review, or follow any of the links below to get your hands on a copy now.

MacLehose Press ¦ Waterstones ¦ Amazon ¦ The Hive

(Author photo copyright: Angharad Elen)

COMPETITION: Win all of our brilliant March releases, including IRÈNE

Thanks for all the entries, the competition is now closed!

The winner, drawn on the morning of March 14, was Tracey Redfern-Jones, who entered via Facebook. Congratulations Tracey!

_______________________________________________________

We’re very excited to be publishing some truly brilliant titles on World Book Day! So excited, in fact, that we have a brilliant competition for you – for a chance to win all four books, simply tweet to @MacLehosePress or comment on our Facebook Page to tell us which you’re most excited about.

untitled Irene Pierre Lemaitre untitled

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Front and centre, we’re enormously excited to be publishing IRÈNE, the prequel to Pierre Lemaitre’s bestselling ALEX, which sees Camille Verhoeven facing a brutal killer, who seems to be basing his crimes on classic crime novels. Naturally we think all our books are brilliant, but even we’ve been bowled over by the enthusiasm of the early reviews for IRÈNE: Sarah Ward at Crimepieces described it as “truly wonderful. It’s easily shaping up to be my book of the year,” while Matthew Craig at Reader Dad was even more enthusiastic: “Sheer genius that will leave the reader, jaw slack in admiration, realising that as well as penning a love letter to the genre, Lemaitre has set out to prove that he can go one better than anything that has gone before, and succeeds with verve . . . While Alex received critical acclaim on its release last year, Irène, Pierre Lemaitre’s first novel, will be the book that people will remember in years to come.” Buy it now here!

But obviously, such grisly drama is not for everyone, and our other new hardback is perfect for those of a calmer persuasion. AND THEN CAME PAULETTE tells the story of an elderly grandfather, Ferdinand, left alone on his farm when his family finally move out. However Ferdinand’s solitude is short-lived – soon he begins to realise he’s not the only one in need of company. A runaway bestseller in France, this is a charming book that’s perfect for fans of The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel, Jean De Florettes or The Hundred Year Old Man who Climbed out of a Window and Disappeared. Buy it now here.

We also have two wonderful new paperbacks out today. If you’ve never read a book in Welsh before, Cywilydd ar chi! Luckily, your moment has arrived, with Angharad Price’s THE LIFE OF REBECCA JONES. This wonderful semi-autobiographical novel of life in the Welsh valleys has an astonishing 4.9 out of 5 stars on Amazon, and the critics agree too: Boyd Tonkin in The Independent described it as “A peak of modern British writing”. Get your hands on a copy here.

OutsidersAnd, last but by no means least, we have OUTSIDERS, a collection of short Italian fiction that had no less than two stories shortlisted for the C.W.A. Short Story Dagger last year. With stories from the likes of Roberto Saviano (author of Gomorrah, the inspiration for the Cannes-lauded film) and Carlo Lucarelli, the stories centre around those on the fringes of society, whether they be recently returned Afghanistan veterans or humble cheese-makers. And, not to brag, it’s the first in a series that will soon feature the most exciting translated short fiction event of the decade: the meeting of Andrea Camilleri and the MacLehose Press . . . Buy it here!

Excited yet?  Now hop over to Twitter (@MacLehosePress) or comment on our Facebook Page to tell us which you’re most excited about before midnight next Thursday 13th March, and we’ll draw the winner on Friday and send them the books.

Just William on Rebecca Jones

I am a fan of translated fiction, my reading having been dominated for so long by English and American writers; and I believe that there are so many interesting voices out there, so brilliantly translated and so enthusiastically championed by certain publishers that it’s the least I can do to try a few of them with little or no knowledge beforehand. Having said all that it was something of a surprise to receive a book from one of those publishers, MacLehose Press, that had been translated from Welsh. A surprise because it is so easy to forget that there are, or used to be, other languages spoken within the British Isles. The Wales Book of the Year Award is one that in part celebrates works written in Welsh. It is one previous winner of the main award, Lloyd Jones, who translated this novel into English after its success in the original Welsh. One thing curiously changed is the title, having been “O! Tyn y Gorchudd” in Welsh, or “O! pull aside the veil” the name of a hymn written by Hugh Jones who came from the area in which this novel is set, the Maesglasau valley. Angharad Price’s family this year celebrate a thousand years living and farming in that valley and this novel is her testament to them. It is a curious mixture of fiction and family history and given that the bulk of what we read is actually true there is a real question as to whether it is really fiction at all. A literary twist at the end is what helps it make its claim as such but for me, as a reading experience, it is far closer to memoir than fiction.

Great piece by William Rycroft about Angharad Price’s stunning The Life of Rebecca Jones. Read it all over at Just William’s Luck

“A Peak Of Modern British Writing”


Nothing like a praise-bomb of a review to brighten up a rainy Friday, and they don’t come much more quietly explosive than this, courtesy of the Independent’s Literary Editor, Boyd Tonkin

This beautiful book, with the many meanings of blindness and insight at its heart, traces a path not only between the visible and invisible worlds but between memory and imagination, past and present – and fact and fiction. Price, an academic at Bangor University, won the National Eisteddfod prize for prose in 2002; Lloyd Jones’s perfectly-pitched English version now graces MacLehose’s august list as its first translation from Welsh.

***

Price’s book achieves a rare feat indeed. A lovingly crafted account of Welsh-speaking rural life on the brink of dissolution or at least transformation, it serves both as a touching, tender document and as a thoroughly artful exercise in storytelling – one that, in methods and motifs, can claim a place on the shelf beside Berger, Sebald and Ondaatje. Widely hailed as the first Welsh classic of the 21st century, it now stands tall –whether great-aunt Rebecca would have liked it or not – as a peak of modern British writing too.

Read the full review

The Lives of The Life Of Rebecca Jones

Our edition of The Life of Rebecca Jones is the third coming of Angharad Price’s exquisite short novel of life in a remote valley in rural Wales.

Price originally wrote the story in Welsh for entry to the National Eisteddfod Prose Medal — the word limit for the competition is 40,000 words, which is why Price’s novel is the length it is. It’s Welsh title was O! Tyn y Gorchudd!, and it tells the story of a generation in Price’s family, who have lived and farmed the land in the same valley for a thousand years.

It was a story that the family had long talked about writing down, and so Price, who did not grow up in the Valley herself, decided to do it herself, but with a surprising twist. Her telling was was announced as the 2002 winner of National Eisteddfod Prose Medal, and in 2003 it was published by Gomer Press. Once it had a cover and spine, there was no stopping it: it was named Welsh Language Book of the Year by the Welsh Arts Council at the Hay Festival in 2003.

Some years later, novelist and translator-from-the-Welsh Lloyd Jones translated the book into English. He was able to work closely with Price on the translation, and The Life of Rebecca Jones/O! Tyn y Gorchudd! was published in a bilingual edition in 2010, once again by Gomer. A copy found its way into the hands of Christopher MacLehose, and last Thursday we travelled to Aberystwyth for the launch of the MacLehose Press edition. Prior to publication we have had some wonderful quotes from Ronald Blythe, the author of that quintessential classic of English rural life, Akenfield, and the travel writer and historian Jan Morris. The Life of Rebecca Jones is, in Morris’ words, “the most fascinating and wonderful book”, and Blythe wrote to tell us that:

“It is not easy to put into the customary admiring words what I felt as I read Angharad Price’s astonishing novel. Perhaps an admiration verging on awe . . . A great addition to rural literature”

And of course the next step is for the rights to be sold in Europe and America and beyond so that Rebecca will be granted a fourth life, and a fifth, a sixth, maybe even a tenth or a seventeenth. All lived in the remote valley where her family have farmed the land for a thousand years.